State Representatives Of Gallia County, 1806-1966

Hon. D. O. Taber, retail merchant of Gallipolis, Ohio has had the honor to represent the people of Gallia County for this his seventh consecutive term. Dan's assignment was two important House committees; Commerce and Transportation and Financial Institutions. Dan's affability, seniority, and "know how" makes him a valuable member of the House of Representatives.

Gallia County, formed from Washington County, was organized April 30, 1803. Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Scioto, and Vinton counties were attached, or part of, Gallia County until its final form. It is said the original settlers of Gallia County were French and the name Gallia is of French origin.

Gallia County, with its eastern border along the Ohio River, has a land area of 430 square miles and a 1964 estimated population of 26,541. Gallipolis (pop. 9,192) is the county seat. There are six villages and sixteen townships.

With many important historic events to its credit along with enterprising people, Gallia County has contributed much to its own advancement and occupies an important part in Ohio's programs and progress.

In two sessions of Ohio's General Assembly, 1927-8 and 1931-2, Gallia County honored a lady as their state representative.

Each legislative district may include more than one county and the district boundaries could be redrawn from time to time as population patterns changed. If this county's representative was from another county in the district, it is shown after his name.

Records indicate political affiliations of members began with the 77th Session in 1906-07. (D)= Democrat, (R)= Republican

This data is taken from "Historical Directory of the Ohio House of Representatives", published in 1966 by Columbus Blank Book Company, Columbus, Ohio 43207, bound by the State Of Ohio.


SessionRepresentative's NameSession Started
5thLevi Barber,
Lewis Cass,
William H. Putoff
all from Washington County
December 1, 1806
6thJames Palmer,
John P. R. Bureau,
John Matthews
all from Washington County
December 7, 1807
7thThomas Rogers December 5, 1808
8thPickett Marvin December 4, 1809
9thRobert Safford December 3, 1810
10thThomas Rogers December 2, 1811
11thLewis Summers December 7, 1812
12thEdw. W. Tupper December 6, 1813
13thEdw. W. Tupper December 5, 1814
14thJ. P. R. Bureau December 4, 1815
15thDavid Boggs December 2, 1816
16th Edw. W. Tupper December 1, 1817
17thDavid Boggs December 7, 1818
18thDaniel Wemeldorf December 6, 1819
19thRobert G. Hanna December 4, 1820
20thDavid Boggs December 3, 1821
21stJos. W. Ross December 2, 1822
22ndFuller Elliott December 1, 1823
23rdJos. W. Ross December 6, 1824
24thJos. W. Ross December 5, 1825
25thDaniel Hoffman December 4, 1826
26thAndrew Donnally December 3, 1827
27thAndrew Donnally December 1, 1828
28thAndrew Donnally December 7, 1829
29thAndrew Donnally December 6, 1830
30thAndrew Donnally December 5, 1831
31stAndrew Donnally
John P. R. Bureau
December 3, 1832
32ndGeorge House December 2, 1833
33rdRandall Stivers December 1, 1834
34thRandall Stivers
Samuel R. Holcomb
December 7, 1835
35thJohn Clark December 5, 1836
36thJohn Clark December 4, 1837
37thDavid Ripley December 3, 1838
38thWilliam Miller December 2, 1839
39thDaniel Young December 7, 1840
40thMoses Gregory December 6, 1841
41stHiram Campbell December 5, 1842
42ndJoseph J. Coombs December 4, 1843
43rdJoseph J. Coombs December 2, 1844
44thMartin Owens December 1, 1845
45thAlex. Poor December 7, 1846
46thAnselm T. Holcomb
from Jackson County
December 6, 1847
47thAnselm T. Holcomb
from Jackson County
December 4, 1848
48thAnselm T. Holcomb
from Jackson County
December 3, 1849
49thPennell Cherrington
H. S. Bundy
December 2, 1850
50thPennell Cherrington January 5, 1852
51stAlex. Logue January 2, 1854
52ndJohn N. Clark January 7, 1856
53rdThomas Waugh January 4, 1858
54thGeorge House January 2, 1860
55thJoseph Bradbury January 6, 1862
56thJoseph Bradbury January 4, 1864
57thJ. H. Montgomery January 1, 1866
58thJohn Lawson January 6, 1868
59thJoseph Bradbury January 3, 1870
60thJoseph Bradbury January 1, 1872
61stE. A. Stone January 5, 1874
62ndE. A. Stone January 3, 1876
63rdS. Y. Wasson January 7, 1878
64thLuther M. Beman January 4, 1880
65thLuther M. Beman January 2, 1882
66thWilliam S. Matthews January 7, 1884
67thWilliam S. Matthews January 4, 1886
68thJehu Eakins January 2, 1888
69thJehu Eakins January 6, 1890
70thJehu Eakins January 4, 1892
71stRufus D. Jacobs January 3, 1894
72ndRufus D. Jacobs January 6, 1896
73rdI. F. Chapman January 3, 1898
74thI. F. Chapman 1-Jan-00
75thHollis C. Johnston 6-Jan-02
76thHollis C. Johnston 4-Jan-04
77thI. M. Grover (R) 1-Jan-06
78thI. M. Grover (R) 4-Jan-09
79thCharles H. McCormick (R) 2-Jan-11
80thCharles H. McCormick (R) 6-Jan-13
81stJohn K. Powell (R) 4-Jan-15
82ndJohn K. Powell (R) 1-Jan-17
83rdSimeon H. Bing (R) 6-Jan-19
84thSimeon H. Bing (R) 3-Jan-21
85thErnest J. Riggs (R) 1-Jan-23
86thErnest J. Riggs (R) 5-Jan-25
87thMrs. Virginia Barker Harding (D) 3-Jan-27
88thEllis Hamrick (R) 7-Jan-29
89thMrs. Virginia Barker Harding (D) 1931-32
90thVictor J. Niday (R) 1933-34
91stVictor J. Niday (R) 1935-36
92ndRobert M. Betz (R) 1937-38
93rdRobert M. Betz (R) 1939-40
94thCraig D. Slagle (R) 1941-42
95thCraig D. Slagle (R) 1943-44
96thCraig D. Slagle (R) 1945-46
97thGeorge W. Tope (R) 1947-48
98thGarland E. Elliott (R) 1949-50
99thGarland E. Elliott (R) 1951-52
100thD. O. Taber (R) 1953-54
101stD. O. Taber (R) 1955-56
102ndD. O. Taber (R) 1957-58
103rdD. O. Taber (R) 1959-60
104thD. O. Taber (R) 1961-62
105thD. O. Taber (R) 1963-64
106thD. O. Taber (R) 1965-66

Page reformatted by Conni McDaniel Hall, February 2022.

History Directory   ***   Gallia County OHGenWeb Home